The fight of dreams in the land of terror, religion and politics !!!

Uncle,

Today again you broke the glass of my school. So many beautiful glasses broke and scattered everywhere on the floor. I didn’t get hurt, but my sister got hurt  to save me. My friend Seerat also get hurt to save me. Our school uniform also got spoiled due blood stains. Uncle, we had just got new glasses installed in the windows. Our father had to pay so much money to get these installed, otherwise the school would have remained closed.

Uncle, I feel like crying. Now our school will be closed again. Madam says that without glass the school will be cold. We don’t feel like being at home at all, uncle. Mom and dad get busy with their work. We can’t even go to the fields. Mother says that we do not have to work in the fields. We still have to become doctors. My friends Shabnam, Heera, Nargis also want to become doctors. Amma could not complete her studies. Had his father taught us thoroughly, mother would have explained all the lessons to us at home. When schools are closed, no one teaches us. When my father leaves the house after smoking hookah in the morning, we hardly meet each other. It starts getting cold in the evening, there is problem of electricity, we cannot even watch TV. Then what to do, let’s sleep. In the dream, Abul Kalam uncle woke me up and said, “Daughter, fulfill your dreams as well as those of your parents. The purpose of life is construction, not destruction. Have dreams, they will definitely come true”. I did not understand all the things properly, but I understood one thing that dreams can be fulfilled by dreaming. I will become a doctor. My mother returns in the evening after working in the fields. My father, aunt, grandmother and aunts spent the whole day spreading dung in the fields, collecting leaves, and putting medicine on trees. After all, the apples will be ready and will go to the markets only then we will be able to study with that money.

My brother will become an engineer. He spends the whole day with Farooq Mamu making new wooden ships out of toy airplanes bought from the market and saying that he will generate so much electricity that all the work in the fields will be done by his electric machines. Then mother will just press the button. The electricity generated from water here will not only illuminate our entire country, we will also watch TV and install heaters with it.

We are not able to take bath because the water is cold. Then we will install hot water machines. The ones, which are installed in the houses of Delhi aunties. We like Delhi. It is not so cold. We don’t even realize when four months pass. Don’t feel like coming. But we have to come. We are enrolled in a new class at school. There is a lot of fun in Delhi. We also visit various big malls, from Chandni Market to Red Fort, Rajpath, Rajghat. We also bring new fashionable clothes and then start studying in a new class. One has to study a lot to become a doctor.

Tell me uncle, what will we do if you demolish our school? What will happen to our dreams? What harm have our dreams done to you? This is just ours. Don’t break it, uncle. Please uncle.

Leave a comment